Stock Market Holiday List 2020

Stock Market trading takes place on all days of the week from Monday to Friday and is closed on Saturday and Sunday (except in case of any special trading sessions or holidays declared by the Exchange in advance).

In 2020, the NSE will have holidays on the below-given dates when no trading will take place. The markets are closed on the following days in 2020.

This will help you to know whether the stock market is open or closed for today.

NSE Trading Holiday List for 2020

Republic DaySunday26 January 2020
Maha ShivaratriFriday21 February 2020
Mahavir JayantiMonday6 April 2020
Good FridayFriday10 April 2020
Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar JayantiTuesday14 April 2020
Maharashtra DayFriday1 May 2020
Buddha PurnimaThursday7 May 2020
Bakrid/Eid-al-AdhaFriday31 July 2020
JanmashthamiWednesday12 August 2020
Independence DaySaturday15 August 2020
MuharramSaturday29 August 2020
Mahatma Gandhi JayantiFriday2 October 2020
Vijaya Dashami/DussehraSunday25 October 2020
Eid e MiladThursday29 October 2020
DiwaliSaturday14 November 2020
Guru Nanak JayantiMonday30 November 2020
Christmas DayFriday25 December 2020

NSE has 5 working days from Monday to Friday. The stock exchange will remain closed on every Saturday & Sunday. Few holidays which happening on Saturday / Sunday are as follows:

Description/Occasion DayDate
Republic Day Sunday 26-Jan-2020
Independence DaySaturday 15 August 2020
MuharramSaturday 29 August 2020
Vijaya Dashami/Dussehra Sunday 25 October 2020
DiwaliSaturday 14 November 2020

Note: Muhurat trading is performed on Diwali. The exact timing for Muhurat trading shall be notified subsequently.

This stock market holiday list for 2020 includes the national & regional public holidays. In India, we have two major stock exchanges:

  1. Bombay stock exchange (BSE)
  2. National stock exchange (NSE)

But the timing of both exchanges is the same. Stock Market starting bell of the exchange is at 9:15 am, the closing bell is at 3:30 pm. NSE/BSE has 5 working days a week from Monday to Friday & remains closed on weekends.

Update - 2020.05.01 To celebrate Maharashtra Day on 1st May 2020, the share markets will remain closed in India.
Is the stock market is open on the Diwali occasion?

The stock exchange conducts a Muhurat trading session on the auspicious occasion of Diwali. Muhurat trading will be held between 5.30 pm and 6.30 pm.

Is the Indian stock market open today?

Indian stock exchange remains open for trading on all weekdays Monday through Friday from 9:15 AM to 3:30 PM except Saturdays, Sundays & declared market holidays.

Can we do intraday on Muhurat trading?

Yes, You can do intraday trading on muhurat trading. You cannot sell the stock bought one day earlier, so BTST (Buy Today, Sell Tomorrow) process is not allowed during Muhurat Trading.

What is the time of Muhurat trading on Diwali?

Muhurat trading is conducted on the auspicious occasion of Diwali, will be held between 5.30 pm and 6.30 pm.

Can we buy shares after the market closes in India?

You can’t sell your shares after the market closes. You can place AMO(After Market Order) to buy and sell stocks after the market closes but the order will be placed on the next trading session.

What time does the stock market open and close?

Indian stock market opens from Monday through Friday between 9:15 am to 3:30 pm according to Indian Standard Time. The market remains closed on weekend with occasional exceptions for holidays, of course.

What time do commodity markets open?

The timings for commodity trading are from 10:00 AM to 11:55 PM for all the non-Agri commodities.& timings for the agricultural commodities are from 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM.

Spread the love
Compare items
  • Total (0)